Evaluating My Research 3.2

In this evaluation I will be discussing the positives and negatives in my research.

To start of with, the effectiveness of my primary methods were good. The primary methods I conducted was questionnaires, location recces and vox pops. The questionnaire was a good source of primary research. This was because it gave lots of people’s different opinions on Sheffield. The open-ended questions helped me to get a better understanding in what my target audience would like to see in my promo video. The good thing about the open-ended questions was that it gave a wide variety of people’s opinions. However, when writing it up in my pie charts I found it a little bit difficult because there was too many answers give in my open-ended questions which made it harder to come to a clear conclusion in what my target audience would like to see in my promo video. The closed questions though were very effective. This was because it gave me a clear conclusion in my pie charts which helped me understand what my target audience would like to see in my promo video. The downside to my closed questions was that some of the answers became tied in my pie charts. I had two different answers in the questions, but the same amount of people choosing two different options. I had to make a decision on what would be the best of the two options to add in my promo video. One other downside to my open-ended questions was that one answer given was not retaliating to my questionnaire. This wasn’t good because it could have effected in which located I wanted to film in for my promo video.

Overall though, I thought that I gathered enough information from questionnaires for my research for my promo video. The point in conducting a questionnaire as part of my research was to collect different thoughts and opinions on the questions I provided them about visiting Sheffield on my questionnaire. What ideas I gathered from my questionnaire to put in my promo video was to feature the main sites in Sheffield. People who answered my questionnaire wanted to see the main sites around Sheffield like the Peace Gardens, Winter Gardens and City Hall. I also asked them what sites not to visit in Sheffield, so I good get the correct sites which would keep my audience interested in my promo video. If I were going to do my questionnaire again, I would add more questions in my questionnaires to get more opinions from people and I would add more question answers in my questions so I could get more opinions from people on was they think about Sheffield and not getting my questionnaire results tried again.

The second piece of primary research I did was a location recce. This was a good piece of primary research because it showed me where my location is in Sheffield. Which If I didn’t know I was going I could look at my location recce as a map to find the location I want. I also provided a little section of information about the location. This would give me background information about the location I was visiting, which I could use in my promo video. On my location recce as well I show an arrow to show a picture of the location and the arrow pointing to a map in where the location is. The arrow helped me know which part of Sheffield my location is. The downsides in my location recce was that it only showed little information about the location I was visiting. Which didn’t give me enough information about the location from my location recce. The point in conducting a location recce was to provide information in where my location is and also provide a small amount of information about it. However though, I did get some ideas from my location recce that was added in my promo video. One idea was the small pieces of information that I provided in my location recce which was used in my promo video. The other was the camera angles I used when getting the pictures for my location recce which I used in my promo video. If were going to do my location recce again I would add more information about my location which I good use if I remade my promo video.

The last piece of primary research I did was a vox pop. This was a good piece of primary research because it showed me different people’s thoughts and opinions on their views about Sheffield. This was similar to my questionnaire but unlike this I recorded people’s voices on a microphone. This was more of an on the spot answer I was looking for, from the people I was asking. However, when I did the vox pops with people some of the answers I was getting were a bit daft. The majority of the time though the answers were pretty good. Most of the answers were either about Meadowhall or the City Centre. Which was good because I knew from my vox pops what my audience wanted to see in my promo video. The other downside was that some of the answers people gave in my vox pops were repeated quite a lot. This meant there was no different answers sometimes coming through in my vox pops from people. Which made it very difficult to collect new and different answers for my research. The point of conducting this piece of research was to gather people’s different thoughts and opinions on visiting Sheffield. The only idea I got from my vox pops was what locations people would like to see in my promo video. The most popular locations said were Meadowhall and the City Centre. If I were going to do my vox pops again I would ask more detailed questions to the people to get a more detailed answer. I would also ask more people to take part in my vox pops to get a more variety of answers which would help my research a lot.

 

The next section is about my secondary methods which were good. The secondary methods I conducted was an existing film which was a Sheffield promo video and TripAdvisor looking at Sheffield attractions. The Sheffield promo video is looked at was pretty good. What I gathered from it was that they use a lot of establishing shot. These establishing shots anchor down some of the attractions to visit in Sheffield to the audience but also anchor down where the promo video is set which is Sheffield. This will help me because I will use establishing shots in my promo video to shows where the main locations are to visit in Sheffield. They also use a lot of fast cuts and fades in promo videos. This is to keep the audience interested in the video in what Sheffield has to offer. However though, fades are not used as offend because it suggests that a passage of time has passed and also the audience would lose interest in the video. In a previous promo video I saw I lost interest because they used too many fades and didn’t keep me engaged about the topic in the promo video. This will help me because I will use fast cuts in my promo video but not fades in my promo video because I don’t want to lose the audiences interest in the promo video.

The music in the Sheffield promo video is cheerful in it. It shows that the video is in a  relaxing mood to the audience. It also keeps the audience engaged in the promo video about Sheffield. A promo video that I watched had this kind of music and is used mostly throughout promo videos. This will help me because I will ask people on what genre of music people would like to hear in my promo video about Sheffield which should keep them interested. The use of a slightly moving shot is important because it makes the audience feel that there in the promo video and experiencing Sheffield. It also keeps the audience engaged in the promo video. This will help me because I will use these shots to keep the audience interested in my promo video. The existing film gave me enough information in what shot sizes to use in my promo video and what type of much to use to keep my audience interest in my promo video. The point of conducting this research was to gather information in how other types of promo videos look and how I could make my promo video similar to that.

The secondary method I used is TripAdvisor. TripAdvisor was a good source of information. This was because it provided lots of information on attractions in Sheffield. It provided a star rating and reviews to show if the attractions are worth visiting. However, the problem with this is that some of the attractions people might like and others might not like the same attractions that people liked. Which makes it a little bit bias on if the research is good to use or not. The other good thing about TripAdvisor was that you could choose the attractions you wanted in categories. Which was good because it good make me focus on one specific attraction in my promo video. TripAdvisor also shows the weather forecast which is good because it would let me know the best time to film in a specific location. The downside to this though was that the weather could change at any time which meant that this piece of information was misleading. I though that I got enough information about attractions in Sheffield and other additional that could help me in my promo video. The point of conducting this research was to gather information about different types of attractions in Sheffield and if they are worth visiting and worth filming for my promo video. It also helped me with other pieces of information like focusing on a specific type of attraction for my promo video and the weather forecast. What ideas I got from this piece of research was the short pieces of information about the location that I could use to educate my audience about the location in the promo video. A map of the location to show the audience where the location is in Sheffield in my promo video. If I were going to do this again I would add more detailed information about the location and be more detail about where the location is in Sheffield in my promo video.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑